November 13, 2013

The Honorable John Boehner Speaker of the House U.S. Capitol, H-232 Washington, D.C. 20515

House Minority Leader 235 Cannon House Office Bldg. Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Harry Reid Majority Leader **United States Senate** Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Mitch McConnell Republican Leader **United States Senate** Washington, DC 20510

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi

Dear Speaker Boehner, Minority Leader Pelosi, Majority Leader Reid, and Republican Leader McConnell:

We are writing on behalf of the undersigned medical and health professional societies to thank both Chambers of Congress for working together to finalize passage of bi-partisan, life-saving, and cost effective legislation H.R. 698/S. 330, the "HIV Organ Policy Equity" (HOPE) Act.

We were very pleased to see the Senate pass the HOPE Act (S. 330) on June 17, 2013 by unanimous consent. Led by Senators Tom Coburn (R-OK) and Barbara Boxer (D-CA), the bill gained cosponsorship from a diverse bi-partisan group of co-sponsors including Senators Paul (R-KY), Baldwin (D-WI), Enzi (R-WY), Warren (D-MA), Burr (R-NC), Landrieu (D-LA), Blunt (R-MO), Pryor (D-AR), Kirk (R-IL) and others. A month later, we were again pleased to watch the House Energy and Commerce committee pass the HOPE Act (H.R. 698) also by unanimous consent and with strong support from committee champions, Representatives Burgess (R-TX) and Capps (D-CA) as well as Representative Andy Harris, MD.

As medical and health professional societies, we have long been committed to policies that increase the pool of available organs for transplant. More than 8,000 people die each year waiting for a suitable organ to become available while, at the same time, the national waiting list for donor organs continues to grow. The HOPE Act would amend the Public Health Service Act to establish safeguards and standards of quality for research of organs infected with human immunodeficiency virus (HIV) and expand the supply of life-saving organs available for transplantation to the over 118,000 people on the national waiting list.

The HOPE Act would remove the 1988 ban on the use of HIV-positive organs for HIV-positive individuals in need of a donor organ. The current ban is simply not supportable in contemporary medicine but has been eclipsed in the last 25 years by significant advances in the treatment of HIV. Furthermore, passage of this legislation will not only remove the ban and permit access to life-saving transplants; it will also allow the scientific and transplant community to conduct much needed research in this area.

We are grateful to you and to all of the bill's co-sponsors and supporters for coming together to pass this common-sense legislation that will improve the lives of many patients in need of organ transplants. We applaud your leadership and commitment and that of your staffs to ensuring that our laws reflect current medical science in efforts to advance organ donation and research and, most importantly, save lives.

Sincerely,

Alan N. Langnas, D.O., President
American Society of Transplant Surgeons

Daniel R. Salomon, M.D., President

Daniel Renlemen M.D.

Ule Laugnes

American Society of Transplantation

Sharon M. Moe, MD, FASN, President

American Society of Nephrology

Joel Gallant, MD, MPH, FIDSA, Board Chair

Shaw m moe

**HIV Medicine Association** 

Donna Elaine Sweet, MD, MACP, AAHIVS, Chairperson

American Academy of HIV Medicine

Donne E. Sweetman

Clinician Organizations Letter in Support of the HOPE ACT (s. 330/H.R. 698) November 13, 2013 Page 3

Henry Ng, MD, MPH, President

GLMA: Health Professionals Advancing LGBT Equality

Barbara E. Murray, MD, FIDSA, President

Infectious Diseases Society of America

Barbara E. Murray M.D.

Robert T. Carroll, PhD(c), RN, ACRN, President

Association of Nurses in AIDS Care

Susan Stuart, President

Rowal Canol

Association of Organ Procurement Organizations

David A Reznik, DDS, President

**HIV Dental Alliance** 

Carrie Lindower, RN, MBA, CPTC, CCTC, President

NATCO, The Organization for Transplant Professionals

CC:

The Honorable Barbara Boxer

The Honorable Tom Coburn, MD

The Honorable Lois Capps

The Honorable Andy Harris

The Honorable Michael C. Burgess

The Honorable Eric Cantor

The Honorable Steny Hoyer

The Honorable Richard Durbin

The Honorable John Cornyn

The Honorable Fred Upton

The Honorable Henry Waxman

The Honorable Tammy Baldwin

Clinician Organizations Letter in Support of the HOPE ACT (s. 330/H.R. 698) November 13, 2013 Page 4

The Honorable Richard Blumenthal

The Honorable Roy Blunt
The Honorable Richard Burr
The Honorable Michael B. Enzi
The Honorable Dianne Feinstein

The Honorable Mark Kirk

The Honorable Mary L. Landrieu

The Honorable Carl Levin
The Honorable Rand Paul
The Honorable Mark L. Pryor
The Honorable Brian Schatz

The Honorable Elizabeth Warren
The Honorable Elijah E. Cummings
The Honorable Raul M. Grijalva

The Honorable Barbara Lee

The Honorable Rep Wilson, Frederica S.

The Honorable Rep Moore, Gwen

The Honorable Rep Payne, Donald M., Jr.

The Honorable Rep Clay, Wm. Lacy The Honorable Rep Rangel, Charles B.

The Honorable Rep Schiff, Adam B.

The Honorable Tim Griffin

The Honorable Bruce L. Braley
The Honorable Jared Huffman

The Honorable David Loebsack

The Honorable Jared Polis

The Honorable Robert J. Wittman

The Honorable Eleanor Holmes Norton

The Honorable Trey Radel
The Honorable Jim Costa

The Honorable Michael H. Michaud

The Honorable Raul Ruiz

The Honorable David N. Cicilline

The Honorable Janice D. Schakowsky

The Honorable Carolyn B. Maloney

The Honorable Bobby L. Rush

The Honorable Candice S. Miller

The Honorable Mark Takano